Director and Advisory Board

Director of the Centre for the Study of the Bible 

Hindy Najman, Oriel and Laing Professor of the Interpretation of Holy Scripture at the University of Oxford is the director and founder of the Centre for the studies of the Bible.

Her research interests encompass Composition and Author Function; Construction and Imitation of Biblical Figures; Practices of Pseudepigraphy and Pseudonymous Attribution; Revelation, Divine Encounter and Prophecy; Idealized Sage and Perfectionism; Philology and Philological Practices; Diaspora and Exile; Authority and Tradition; Allegorical Interpretation and Midrash; Destruction and Recovery; Collection and Canon; the History of Biblical Interpretation; and Scholarly Practices of Reading the Bible and Biblical Traditions. She has written on the Hebrew Bible, the Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Literature and Pseudepigrapha.  Her publications include Losing the Temple and Recovering the Future: An Analysis of 4 Ezra, Past Renewals: Interpretive Authority, Renewed Revelation and the Quest for Perfection, Seconding Sinai: The Development of Mosaic Discourse in Second Temple Judaism, and a recent essay entitled “Ethical Reading: The Transformation of Text and Self.” She is currently working on a new book entitled: Reading Practices and the Vitality of Scripture (Oxford University Press).

Full CV 

For more information or to set up a meeting with Professor Najman, please contact Ms Stefania Beitia (, Assistant to the Director & Administrator of the Centre for the Study of the Bible. 

Advisory Board

Lord Mendoza, Provost of Oriel College (ex officio).

Mr Marco Zhang, Director of Development of Oriel College (ex officio).

Ms Margaret Jones, Treasurer of Oriel College (ex officio).

Professor Anna Sapir Abulafia, Professor of the Study of the Abrahamic Religions. 

Professor Markus Bockmuehl, Dean Ireland's Professor of the Exegesis of Holy Scripture, Faculty of Theology and Religion, University of Oxford, Professorial Fellow, Keble College.

Professor George J. Brooke, Rylands Professor of Biblical Criticism and Exegesis Emeritus, University of Manchester, Visiting Professor of Biblical Studies, University of Chester.

Professor Jaś Elsner FBA, Humfry Payne Senior Research Fellow in Classical Archaeology and Art, Corpus Christi College & Faculty of Classics, University of Oxford.

Professor Constanze Güthenke, Associate Professor of Greek Literature, Faculty of Classics, University of Oxford, E.P. Warren Praelector, Corpus Christi College.

Dr John Huber, Tutorial Fellow in Engineering Science, Oriel College, University of Oxford.

Mrs Juliane Kerkhecker, Grocyn Lecturer, Faculty of Classics, University of Oxford, Tutorial Fellow in Classics, Oriel College.

Mr Steven MarshallDomestic Bursar (ex officio).

Professor Judith Olszowy-Schlanger, Director of the Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies, President of OCHJS, University of Oxford.

Professor Tobias Reinhardt, Corpus Christi Professor of the Latin Language and Literature, Corpus Christi College & Faculty of Classics, University of Oxford.

Dr Scott Scullion, Associate Professor, Faculty of Classics, University of Oxford, Fellow and Tutor in Classics, Worcester College.

Professor William Wood, Clifford Potter Fellow, and Tutor in Theology, Oriel College and Faculty Board Chair of Theology and Religion, University of Oxford.

Professor Mark Wynn, Nolloth Professor of the Philosophy of the Christian Religion.