Winners of Lloyd Davies Philosophy Prize Visit Oriel

  • Winners of Lloyd Davies Philosophy Prize 2016
    Winners of the Lloyd Davies Philosophy Prize 2016 with Oriel's Philosophy Fellows
16 September, 2016

The winners of the 2016 Lloyd Davies Philosophy Prize, Brendan McGrath and Amedeo Robiolio, visited Oriel on the final Open Day of the year.

They met with Philosophy Fellows Dr Oliver Pooley, Prof Gonzalo Rodriguez-Pereyra and Dr Luca Castagnoli to discuss their prize-winning papers, both of which offered an answer to the question: “Is a statue the very same object as the statue-shaped hunk of stone located in the same place?”

You can read the prize winning essays here.

The Lloyd Davies Philosophy Prize was established in 2006 and is open to students in Year 12 or the Lower 6th. The aim of the Prize is to give students an opportunity to write about a subject they are interested in, to help them to develop their abilities for independent research and thought in Philosophy, and to encourage them to consider applying to study Philosophy, either at Oxford or at another university by giving them some experience of the type of work involved.

We congratulate this year’s winners on their achievement, and look forward to releasing a new set of questions for next year’s prize in April 2017.