Oriel College Bursaries

Certain companies, former students of the College and other benefactors (see below) have made generous gifts to the College to provide bursaries for students studying at Oriel. These range from £500 to £1500 per year. The bursaries are granted solely on the basis of financial need.

In addition to Oriel General Bursaries, there are individual bursaries which may be awarded to undergraduate students who are either studying particular subjects or are from particular regions of the UK.

Application forms for Oriel undergraduate bursaries will be sent to new undergraduates in their first week at College and can also be found on the College's intranet. The bursary will be granted for each year of the student's undergraduate course, provided that he or she maintains satisfactory academic progress and writes an annual update of their progress.

Regional Bursaries

These bursaries may be offered to undergraduate students in financial hardship from a school within the relevant area to read any subject offered by Oriel.

  • East Anglia (Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk, Suffolk)
  • Kent
  • London (Rothschild Trust London Bursary)
  • London (John Shannon Bursary)
  • London (Distant Valley Bursary)
  • Yorkshire (Marson-Smith Bursary)
  • Midlands Bursary
  • North West (Furness, South Lakeland, Copeland)
  • North West (Cheshire, Cumbria, Lancashire, Merseyside)
  • North West (Lancashire, Greater Manchester)(W O Street Bursary)
  • Scotland
  • West Country (Avon, Somerset, Wiltshire)

Subject-Based Bursaries

These bursaries may be offered to undergraduate students in financial hardship reading the subjects indicated.

  • History
  • Classics
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics (R. M. Carson Bursary)
  • Medical (Robb-Smith Bursary)
  • Medical (Laing Medical Bursary)
  • Medical (McVeigh/Rai)
  • Physics (John Sanders)
  • Engineering/Physics (Peter Freeman)

Open Bursaries

These bursaries are for undergraduate students in financial hardship from anywhere reading any subject.

  • Wilson Bursary
  • William Mason Bursary
  • Ernest Nicholson Bursary (in honour of the late Rev. Ernest Nicholson, Provost of Oriel from 1990-2003)
  • The Anthony Roe Bursary (open to all but priority given to disabled students)