Skip Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Mr Hugh Collins Rice

MA, MLitt

Hugh Collins Rice read music at Oxford, followed by an MA (composition and analysis) at the University of Sussex and research at Oxford (M.Litt – Schoenberg’s serial music). He has taught undergraduates at Oxford for many years, including as college lecturer in music at Hertford College (1989-2008).

As a composer, Hugh’s work has won awards (1989 PA Composition Award, 1995 Composers’ Guild of Great Britain/MCPS Prize) and has been performed across the UK, in Belgium, Netherlands, Italy and Germany, and broadcast on Radio 3. Performers have included The Swingle Singers, Hilliard Ensemble, Britten Sinfonia, Coull String Quartet, Jane Manning, Mediva and the London Schubert Players.

Research Interests

Hugh’s research interests are focused on music of the recent past and he has published articles on Schoenberg, Schnittke, Lutoslawski and Walton.

Selected Publications

Walton’s Final Work: Harmony and the Art of (Make-Believe) Fugue, Hugh Collins Rice, Tempo, 66:262, 2012, pp 39-47.

The Interaction of Form and Material in Schoenberg’s Klavierstück op.33b, Hugh Collins Rice, Tempo, 66:259, 2012, pp 24-30.

Witold Lutosławski and the Craft of Writing Nothing, Hugh Collins Rice, Tempo, 64:253, 2010, pp 21-29.