Sir John Elliott to Receive Premio Órdenes Españolas Award 2018

  • Oriel College
3 May, 2018

Honorary Fellow and former Regius Professor of Modern History Sir John Elliott will receive the first ever Premio Órdenes Españolas Award at a ceremony in Madrid on the 25th May.

The Spanish Orders of Chivalry: Santiago, Calatrava, Alcántara and Montesa are honouring Sir John for his outstanding achievements in the field of Hispanic history and culture. The Premio Órdenes Españolas Award, worth €60,000, is an annual prize open to distinguished historians from around the world whose research is related to Hispanic civilization. Sir John was nominated for the award by the Oxford University History Faculty, which was one of over 30 different universities to put forward nominees. 

Sir John began his academic career as a lecturer at Cambridge University, before he became Professor of History at King's College Longon between 1968 and 1973. Sir John took up a Professorship at Princeton in 1973, and remained there until 1990, when he was offered the post of Regius Professor of Modern History at Oxford, a post which brought him to Oriel. Sir John retired his Professorship in 1997, but he remains an Honorary Fellow of Oriel.

Sir John has achieved a lot of recognition for his outstanding scholarly career, and was knighted for his services to history in 1994. In 1986, he won the Wolfson History Prize for his book, The Count-Duke of Olivares: The Statesman in an Age of Decline. In 1996 he received the Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, and he has been decorated by the Spanish government on numerous occasions. He was also winner of the Balzan Prize for early modern history in 1999.

Among Sir John's most famous publications are: The Revolt of the Catalans (1963); Imperial Spain (1963); Europe Divided, 1559–1598 (1963); The Count-Duke of Olivares (1986); A Palace for a King – with Jonathan Brown  (2003); Empires of the Atlantic World (2006); Spain, Europe and the Wider World, 1500–1800 (2009); and History in the Making (2012).