Skip Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Oxford reclaims Fox-Powell Trophy in annual golf match

Oriel College’s Master of Works, Colin Bailey, who has captained the Oxford team since 2016, led the team to success, supported by Oriel Lodge Manager, Samuel Henry and other players from the University of Oxford, its colleges and the University Hospital Trust. This event, held since 1980, awards the winning team the Fox-Powell Trophy, engraved each year to mark the competition’s history.

The match, held at the Aspley Guise & Woburn Sands Golf Club, follows a 27-hole Ryder Cup match play format with 12 players per team. Oxford has frequently held the trophy since 2015, with the exception of 2020, when the event was cancelled due to COVID. Oxford emerged victorious in 2021, while Cambridge claimed the title in 2022 and 2023. This year’s win marks the 28th time Oxford has held the trophy, with the event ending in a tie on seven occasions.

The match has been played on neutral ground at Aspley Guise & Woburn Sands Golf Club for the past decade, transitioning from its previous home and away format.